First Nations pharmacists awarded inaugural McMillan Grant

COVID-19 support for indigenous people

Three First Nations pharmacists have been awarded the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s (PSA) inaugural PSA Faye McMillan Conference Grant.

This year the grant will support the three First Nations pharmacists to attend PSA’s National Conference, PSA23 to be held in Sydney from 28-30 July 2023.

The 2023 grant recipients are:

  • Alexander Burke (NSW)
  • Kirra Natty (NSW)
  • Scott Bates (SA).

“Congratulations to each recipient of the PSA Faye McMillian Conference Grant, we look forward to seeing Kirra, Scott and Alexander at PSA23!” PSA National President Dr Fei Sim FPS said.

“PSA acknowledges the ongoing need to increase participation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in pharmacy, this grant opportunity represents a genuine commitment by PSA to support the existing pharmacist workforce who identify as Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.”

Inspired and supported by Professor Faye McMillan AM, the PSA Faye McMillan Conference Grant is awarded each year to an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander pharmacist to attend Australia’s leading pharmacist education conference hosted by PSA.

“Creating spaces of belonging is a critical component for reconciliation in this country. Grant opportunities such as this allow us to hold this space for others to come into,” Professor McMillan AM said.

Professor McMillan AM is a Wiradjuri yinaa (woman) originally from Trangie, NSW. She is a dedicated community pharmacist and is recognised as the first Indigenous Australian to hold a Western degree in pharmacy in this country.

“Yindyamarra (respect) to all the grant recipients and to PSA, Mandaang guwu (thank you),” Professor McMillan AM said.